

TOWN OF MEDWAY Commonwealth of Massachusetts

ENERGY AND SUSTAINABILITY COMMITTEE

Mission Statement

Revised and submitted February 25, 2019. Approved March 4, 2019.

The Medway Energy and Sustainability Committee is charged with investigating, studying, recommending, and advocating viable methods for achieving energy conservation, using renewable sources of energy, and for promoting sustainability within the Town and Medway community.

The following is included in our vision:

The Medway Energy and Sustainability Committee strives to be a model of environmental stewardship by investigating, studying, recommending, and advocating sustainable solutions into our community through renewable energy, water conservation, and environmentally conscious solutions within the town and Medway community. The Committee works with municipal departments, businesses, institutions, and civic and volunteer organizations to initiate and carry out actions to achieve emissions reductions and other sustainability initiatives.

This includes:

- Establishing energy inventories for the Town and setting goals for energy reductions.
- Assessing the scope of energy conservation and renewable energy use in Town buildings and vehicles.
- Recommending feasible projects for sustainability, energy and water conservation, and renewable energy use.
- Reviewing Town by-laws to promote sustainability, energy and water conservation, and renewable energy use.
- Educating and providing outreach to Medway citizens.
- Coordinating with various state, federal, and private agencies on sustainability, energy and renewable issues.
- Advise and assist the Town and community to identify and apply for sustainability, energy and conservation related grants and funding opportunities.

Energy and Sustainability Committee Composition

Revised October 20, 2021. Approved by Select Board November 22, 2021

The Town-Wide Energy and Sustainability Committee, established by the Select Board, shall consist of seven registered voters of the town. The Select Board shall appoint seven at-large members of the Committee. There shall be three liaison members. One liaison member shall be a



member of the School Committee, appointed by the School Committee; one liaison member shall be a member of the Planning and Economic Development Board, appointed by the Planning and Economic Development Board, and one liaison member shall be a member of the Select Board, appointed by the Select Board. The liaison members shall only vote if there is a tie.

The Select Board shall appoint two members for a term of four years, three members for a term of three years, and two members for a term of two years. Thereafter, upon the expiration of each term, the Select Board shall appoint or re-appoint members for a four year term. The School Committee, Planning and Economic Development Board, and Select Board shall appoint their respective representatives, each for a one year term. Whenever a vacancy occurs on the Committee, it shall be filled by the appointing authority. Any person appointed to fill a vacancy shall hold office for the unexpired term of the person succeeded.

