Master Plan Committee

One of the statutory responsibilities of a Massachusetts municipal planning board is to establish the community’s master plan.  In 1999 and again in 2009, the Planning and Economic Development Board adopted a master plan; those plans were subsequently affirmed by Town Meeting.  The plans have been used over the past 20 years to guide the Town’s planning and zoning initiatives.

It is time to develop a new Medway Master Plan to address sustainable land-use, housing, economic development, natural resources, open space and recreation, cultural asset development, historic preservation, municipal services and facilities, transportation planning, and smart growth and sustainability.  The process of developing a master plan allows the community to understand the forces shaping the town’s built environment, identify desired futures for the community, and select effective strategies to achieve the community’s vision and goals. 

To this end, the Planning and Economic Development Board has established a Master Plan Committee.  It includes representatives of various Town boards and committees, local organizations, and citizens at large. Committee members have been appointed for a two-year term.  With funding authorized by Town meeting, the Committee will be assisted by planning consultant JM Goldson LLC in partnership with RKG Associates, Inc. and Resilience Planning and Design LLC.  Town staff will be involved to provide administrative and technical support and resources. 

At the heart of Medway’s master planning process is a robust approach to community engagement which will offer opportunities for both virtual and in-person involvement through public forums, focus groups, stakeholder interviews, and online opportunities for interaction and input.  

The goal is to complete the new Medway Master Plan by the fall of 2022. 

The Committee’s meetings will be public, held in accordance with the Open Meetings Law.   

Contact the Committee

Staff Contacts


Community & Economic Development Director


Planning & Economic Development Coordinator


Administrative Assistant


Committee Members

Jessica Chabot

Planning & Economic Development Board Representative

March 31, 2023

Cassandra McKenzie

Vice Chair
Economic Development Committee Representative

March 31, 2023

Eric Arbeene

At-Large Member

March 31, 2023

Rebecca Atwood

Cultural Council Representative

March 31, 2023

Carey Bergeron

Energy & Sustainability Committee

March 31, 2023

Susan Dietrich

School Committee Representative

March 31, 2023

John Foresto

Select Board

March 31, 2021

Ellen Hillery

Finance Committee Representative

March 31, 2023

Siri Krishna Khalsa

Council on Aging Representative

March 31, 2023

Tara Kripowicz

Conservation Commission

March 31, 2023

Denise Legee

Open Space Committee Representative

March 31, 2023

Sarah Raposa

At-Large Member

March 31, 2023

Linda Reynolds

Lions Club Representative

March 31, 2023

Faina Shapiro

Medway Business Council Representative

March 31, 2021

Jack Wolfe

Affordable Housing Committee and Trust

March 31, 2021